Navratri Celebrations with Colors and Their Significance

Navratri Nine Colors with Their Significance

Navratri Nine Colors with Their Significance

Navratri is also called Durga Puja in Hinduism and is also celebrated in Navratri. In Sanskrit, Navratri means “Nine Nights”. Navaratri is celebrated on 9 days of the month of Ashwin. Navratri is a major festival that is held in honor of the divine woman. It often ends on the 10th day of the Dussehra festival. Navaratri is a Hindu festival celebrated for nine nights (and ten days). Navaratri is celebrated in different ways in different parts of the Indian cultural region. Here we are talking about Navratri Nine Colors with Their Significance.

How do you believe Navratri?

In Navratri, the decoration of stage is decorated and the statue of the Mother Goddess is installed. According to the scriptures of Hinduism, worship, chanting, and havan are done. Nine days of harvest season are also cultural events, such as competitive design and staging of pandals, family visits to these pandals, and public celebrations of classical and folk dances of Hindu culture. The last day is called Vijayadashami or Dussehra. On the 10th day, the idols are either immersed in water bodies like rivers and sea. This festival begins preparations for Diwali, the most important and widely celebrated festival of lights, which is celebrated twenty days after Vijayadashami or Dussehra Dussehra.

Navratri Nine Colors with Their Significance

The festival is associated with a major battle between Durga and the demon Mahishasura and celebrates the victory of good over evil on this day. These nine days are completely dedicated to Goddess Durga and her nine avatars – Navadurga. Each day is associated with an avatar of the Goddess:

Women’s Cotton Printed Saree

Day 1: Shailaputri

It is also known as Pratipada. The day is associated with Shailputri (literally “daughter of the mountain”), an incarnation of Parvati. It is in this form that the goddess is worshiped as the consort of Shiva; She is depicted as riding a bull, with Nandi, a trident in his right hand, and a lotus in his left. Shailputri is considered a direct incarnation of Mahakali. The color of the day is red, indicating action and vigor.

Day 2 – Brahmacharini

On Dwitiya, another incarnation of Parvati, Goddess Brahmacharini is worshiped. In this form, Parvati had become Sati. Brahmacharini is worshiped for liberation or salvation and attainment of peace and prosperity. Walking barefoot and holding chanting and Kamandal in his hands, he symbolizes joy and calm. Blue is the color code of this day. The blue color signifies peace with strong energy.

Day 3 – Chandraghanta

Tritiya is worshiped as Chandraghanta, the goddess – a name derived from the fact that after marrying Shiva, Parvati adorned her forehead with Ardhachandra (lit crescent). He is also a symbol of beauty and bravery. Yellow is the color of the third day, which is a vibrant color and can soothe the mood of everyone.

Day 4 – Kushmanda

Goddess Kushmanda is worshiped on Chaturthi. Those are considered to be the creative forces of the universe. Kushmanda is associated with the end of vegetation on Earth and therefore, the color of the day is green. He is depicted as sitting on a tiger with eight arms.

Day 5 – Skandamata

Skandmata is the mother of Devi, Skanda (or Karthikeya), worshiped on Panchami. The gray color symbolizes the changing strength of a mother when her child is faced with danger. The lion ride is depicted with the mother holding four arms and holding her child.

Day 6 – Katyayani

Born from the sage Katyayana, an orange symbol, she is an incarnation of Durga. He is shown to show courage which is the orange color symbol. Known as the warrior goddess, she is considered one of the most violent forms of the goddess. In this incarnation, Katyayana rides a lion and has four arms. Katyayan Mata is also considered a form of Maha Lakshmi.

Day 7 – Kalaratri

Kalratri is revered on Saptami. It is one of the cruelest forms of Goddess Durga. It is believed that Parvati removed her fair skin to kill the demons Shumbha and Nishumbha. In the seventh incarnation, the goddess appears in a white dress with a lot of anger in her fiery eyes, and her skin turns black. The white color symbolizes prayer and peace that assures devotees that the Goddess will protect them from harm.

Day 8 – Mahagauri

Mahagauri is worshiped on Ashtami. Mahagauri is considered a symbol of wisdom and peace. The pink color is considered auspicious on this day, indicating optimism.

Day 9 – Sidhidatri

The last day of the festival is celebrated as Navami, on this day people offer prayers to Siddhidatri. She is seated with her four hands on the lotus and attains all kinds of siddhis, also known as Srilakshmi Devi. The light blue color shows appreciation for the beauty of nature.

Navratri Nine Colors with Their Significance is an informational blog. Artisan Glory

Read Also:

Dyeing – The Art of Breathing Life in a Handloom Saree

How to Pull Off a Khadi Cotton Sari in Style?